Site Map | Contact Us

Sign up for our mailing list!

Help with DownloadingSubmit Help
Adjust Font Size:
Small |  Medium |  Large

GFWC Opens Up Entries for National Journalism Award

Applications Now Being Accepted for 17th Annual Jane Cunningham Croly Award for Excellence in Journalism Covering Issues of Concern to Women

Contact: Peter Charbonneau
P: 202-347-3168 ext. 144
E: PCharbonneau@GFWC.org

For Immediate Release

February 13, 2012 (Washington, D.C.) – The General Federation of Women’s Clubs announced today it is now accepting entries for its 17th Annual Jane Cunningham Croly Award for Excellence in Journalism Covering Issues of Concern to Women. The Croly Award will be presented on June 15, 2012, at the GFWC Annual Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina. The winner will receive a $1,000 cash award and travel expenses to attend and speak at the awards ceremony.

The award recognizes journalists who best capture the courage, vision, and spirit of GFWC’s founder and pioneering journalist Jane Cunningham Croly. Croly Award winners demonstrate a concern for the rights and advancement of women in our society; an awareness of women’s strength and courage; and/or an attempt to counteract sexism.

The contest is open to all journalists who contribute to newspapers, broadcast news programs (radio and television), magazines, news services, or online publications, either on staff or in a freelance capacity. Entries must be postmarked by May 7, 2012. A winner will be notified by May 18, 2012. Click here for complete entry guidelines and the entry form.

In 2011, GFWC selected Marie Claire editor-at-large Abigail Pesta as its Croly Award winner for her poignant July 2010 article, “An American Tragedy,” which portrays the tragic death of Noor Almaleki, a 20 year old Arizona woman who was killed by her father.

The Croly Award was first bestowed in 1996 to Sara Hammel, then of the Middlesex News, for her three-part series on an army-sponsored women's strength study to determine if women can perform demanding physical strength tasks usually assigned to men in the military. Past judges for the award include former Newsweek contributing editor Eleanor Clift and Geneva Overholser, a former chairman of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

Click here for more information about the award, and past honorees.


About the General Federation of Women’s Clubs
The General Federation of Women’s Clubs is a unifying force, bringing together local women’s clubs, with members dedicated to strengthening their communities and enhancing the lives of others through volunteer service. With 104,000 members in affiliated clubs in every state and more than a dozen countries, GFWC members are community leaders who work locally to create global change by supporting the arts, preserving natural resources, advancing education, promoting healthy lifestyles, encouraging civic involvement, and working toward world peace and understanding.


About GFWC | Events & Meetings | Giving to GFWC | Member Center | News Room | Programs | Public Policy | Publications | Women's History & Resource Center | Marketplace