GFWC Begins Celebrating National Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15, 2021

From September 15 to October 15, GFWC is joining the celebration of National Hispanic Heritage Month to honor Latino history, culture, and accomplishments. Hispanic heritage in the United States. The dates of the annual celebration are significant; September 15 is the anniversary of independence for the Latin American countries of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua, which declared their independence from Spain in 1821. Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence day on September 16 and September 18, respectively.

Hispanic heritage in the United States was first recognized in 1968 as National Hispanic Heritage Week and was then extended by Ronald Reagan to cover a 31-day period from September 15 to October 15 and enacted into law on August 17, 1988. President George H.W. Bush declared it as National Hispanic Heritage Month on September 14, 1989, and proclamations have been made by every sitting president of the United States since this date.


December 14

Volunteers in Action: Tempe Woman’s Club and GFWC Woman’s League of the Lowcountry

Read the Blog

Success For Survivors Scholarship

Each year, GFWC awards scholarships to help intimate partner abuse survivors obtain a post-secondary education that offers a chance to reshape their future by securing employment and gaining personal independence.

Learn More