Now Accepting Applications for 2019 Croly Award

November 5, 2018

GFWC is now accepting 2019 entries for the Jane Cunningham Croly Award for Excellence in Journalism Covering Issues of Concern to Women. The Croly Award will be presented in June 2019, at the GFWC Annual Convention in Austin Texas. The winner will receive a $1,000 cash award and travel expenses to attend and speak about their piece at the awards ceremony.

The award recognizes journalists who best capture the courage, vision, and spirit of GFWC’s founder and pioneering journalist Jane Cunningham Croly. Croly Award winners demonstrate a concern for the rights and advancement of women in our society; an awareness of women’s strength and courage; and/or an attempt to counteract sexism.

The contest is open to all journalists who contribute to newspapers, broadcast news programs (radio, television and digital), magazines, news services, or online publications, either on staff or in a freelance capacity.

Applications are due April 30, 2019, using this form.


June 8

Volunteers in Action: GFWC Rhode Island, GFWC Woman’s Club of Ste. Genevieve, and Women’s Club of Farmingdale

Read the Blog

Success For Survivors Scholarship

Each year, GFWC awards scholarships to help intimate partner abuse survivors obtain a post-secondary education that offers a chance to reshape their future by securing employment and gaining personal independence.

Learn More